Language Policy of the Council of Europe

The European Language Portfolio is a project of the Council of Europe. The Council of Europe is an intergovernmental organisation with permanent headquarters in Strasbourg, France. It was founded in 1949 and today comprises 47 member states, including Switzerland, which joined in 1963. The main objective of the Council of Europe is to strengthen European unity and to ensure democracy, human rights and the rule of law. Furthermore, it aims to raise awareness of a European cultural identity and to promote mutual understanding among people of different cultures. It is within this context that the Council of Europe has coordinated the development of the ELP. The Language Portfolio is a personal document which is intended to promote and recognise the lifelong learning of languages and experiences of cultural diversity.


The Council of Europe has two institutions which handle language learning and language teaching: The Language Policy Division in Strasbourg and the European Centre for Modern Languages (ECML) in Graz. The official contact point of both institutions in Switzerland is the EDK General Secretariat.